Clio Pressroom

The Clio Awards Announce 2019 Jury Chairs


The Clio Awards Announce 2019 Jury Chairs

60th Annual Awards to Honor Winners on September 25 in New York City

New York, NY—February 25, 2019 — The Clio Awards, the premier international awards competition for the creative business, today announced the esteemed industry leaders that will serve as the chairs of its multidisciplinary juries in 2019. This year, the diverse pool of award-winning creatives includes: Design Army’s Pum Lefebure, BBH’s Pelle Sjoenell and VMLY&R’s Debbi Vandeven.

“The Clio judging experience is a unique opportunity — one that enables us to really focus on the innovation and creative excellence central to the ideas that move our industry forward,” said Debbi Vandeven, Global Chief Creative Officer, VMLY&R. “I’m thrilled to be able to lead the Direct & Experiential/Events Jury’s discussion and reflect on another year of groundbreaking work.”

The 2019 jury, representing 20 countries, will convene in Cabo San Lucas for spirited deliberations that will ultimately determine which entries will earn the coveted Grand, Gold, Silver and Bronze Clio statues. Each jury is tasked with evaluating the execution of submissions within their medium based solely on the creativity and originality of the work.

“For our milestone 60th year, we sought out the absolute best creative talent, those who have demonstrated tremendous impact on the industry through their boundary pushing contributions, to lead our jury discussions” said Clio Awards president Nicole Purcell. “These leaders will bring their own experiences to the table to cultivate an inspiring environment that will set a new precedent for the creative community.”

The 60th annual Clio Award winners will be honored on September 25, 2019 at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City. For more detailed information, submission deadlines and to enter work, visit www.clios.com.

The gender-balanced class of 2019 Clio Awards jury chairs are:

  • Brand Jury: Fernando Machado, Global Chief Marketing Officer, Burger King Corporation

  • Branded Entertainment & Content Jury: Pelle Sjoenell, Worldwide Chief Creative Officer, BBH

  • Design Jury: Pum Lefebure, Co-Founder & Chief Creative Officer, Design Army

  • Digital/Mobile & Social Media Jury: José Molla, Founder & Chief Creative Officer, the community/la comunidad

  • Direct & Experiential/Events Jury: Debbi Vandeven, Global Chief Creative Officer, VMLY&R

  • Film Jury: Rob Reilly, Global Creative Chairman, McCann Worldgroup

  • Print & Out of Home Jury: Merlee Cruz-Jayme, Chairmom/Chief Creative Officer, Dentsu Jayme Syfu

  • Public Relations Jury: Gail Heimann, President, Weber Shandwick

About The Clio Awards

The Clio Awards is the premier international awards competition for the creative business. Founded in 1959 to celebrate creative excellence in advertising, the Clio Awards today honors the work and talent at the forefront of the advertising, sports, fashion, music, entertainment, and health care industries. Clio recognizes the world’s most innovative work annually at Clio Sports in May, the Clio Awards in September, which includes Clio Music; at the Clio Entertainment Awards in November; and online with Clio Fashion & Beauty and Clio Health.  Noting the diverse and ever-changing creative landscape, Clio acquired and revamped global ad database Ads of the World and re-launched its content platform musebycl.io in 2018, to celebrate creativity 365 days a year.

# # #


Sheena Bermingham

Director of Public Relations



ADAGE: The Clio Awards have Announced its Chairs for 2019

ADAGE: The Clio Awards have Announced its Chairs for 2019

VARIETY: Whatever Happened to ‘Bud-vertising’?

VARIETY: Whatever Happened to ‘Bud-vertising’?